Its main missions are fundamental and applied research as well as teaching. The UL has three faculties and two interdisciplinary centres: the Faculty of Science, Technology and Communication (FSTC), the Faculty of Law, Economics and Finance (FDEF), the Faculty of Language and Literature, Humanities, Arts and Education (FLHASE), the interdisciplinary Centre for Security and Trust (SnT) and the Luxembourg Centre for Systems Biomedicine (LCSB).